top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Wieland

Week in Review: January 5-11

After two weeks of Christmas break we were all ready for routine again. The boys were in such good moods after getting back to school. By the end of the week Henrik had a cough and low fever so ended up missing Friday.


Mom and dad were around Thursday evening for Miles' basketball game so they stayed overnight and mom helped take off the last of the basement wallpaper on Friday. I picked out paint for the kitchen so now we're ready to paint both the kitchen and basement. I have felt a little overwhelmed by the many things that need to be done or bought for our house to be where we want it to be, but I know there's really no hurry.



Soren takes up an insane amount of my energy. I very much look forward to his long naps every afternoon. If he's not clinging to my leg he's creating some sort of a disaster for me to clean up or rescue him from. He discovered the dryer this week.


I listened to an interesting podcast (Seth Haines on 'That Sounds Fun' by Annie Downs) it was about addiction and ordering our attachments under divine love (which I suppose is the term he prefers to use for God). I found the whole thing fascinating and relate-able.


I had already known that Instagram was an addiction for me, but his thoughts on identifying what your addiction is confirmed that and I was glad I had already made the decision to cut that out of my day. I jotted down a few things I did this week that likely happened as a result of not having Instagram to fill dead space...

- played a board game with Ira

- chatted over lunch with Ira about warthogs

- took a nap

- read books to Soren

- podcasts


Speaking of podcasts, Beth Moore on Jamie Ivey's podcast (January 1) is well worth a listen. I have such incredible respect for her and her willingness to evolve despite criticism.


I started back with my counselor this week after a several month break. It was good to be in her office again. I realized that the validation and assistance I get from her is like nothing I receive from another human and it is immensely helpful to me.



87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

NEVERMIND

Sigh. This site isn't working for me. It was worth a shot. Going back to the good old blogger. I'm enjoying doing this again. So you can find me once more at: w-theblog.blogspot.com

bottom of page